Week 10- Artist Conversation- Brittany Waters

Artist: Brittany Waters

Exhibition: #MoreThanASandbox

Media: Ceramics, Installation, Video

Gallery: Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Instagram: @artbywaters

Brittany Waters is a senior graduating in the Spring with her BFA in the CSULB School of Art Sculpture program. She grew up in Sacramento and was inspired by nature to create her artwork.

Brittany created an entire installation for her senior project in the gallery. When you walk into the gallery, there were pictures hung showing the step by step process that she used to create each of the ceramic turtles. Then, as you turn the corner, you are welcomed by a screen showing the ocean and sand spread throughout the room. The most memorable part of the exhibition was the tiny sea turtles she had spent hours creating. Brittany created an exhibition that truly gave a feeling of being at the beach and makes the audience spend a moment remembering its natural beauty.

Brittany talked about her experience going to Hawaii when she was 12 and how it was on that trip that she learned to appreciate the ocean. She described how over the years people have commercialized the natural beauty at beaches and how she wishes that people would learn to connect with the ocean the way has ever since her trip. Her exhibition title, #MoreThanASandbox, serves as a reminder for her audience to embrace the beach rather than see it as a never ending sandbox.

Even though I live at the Beach, I sometimes forget that it is so close and I haven’t been since sometime in January. Each time that I go, I always take a long look at the ocean and wonder why I don’t come that often. Brittany’s exhibition made me want to spend more time at the beach. The beach is always the place that I can reflect on what is going on in life, and, even if its just for a few hours, the world around me doesn’t seem so bad. Since this will be my first summer living in Long Beach, I am positive that I will be spending a lot of my days hanging out at the beach, all thanks to Brittany’s exhibition.

Leave a Reply

