Wk 1-Art Experience: Plaster Casting

There was a variety of emotions and thoughts while I was completing the plaster casting activity. I have never really had any artistic abilities, so I went into this project with very low expectations for the final product. And now I can honestly say, that my expectations were spot on.

In the beginning, I struggled with getting the sand to mold around my hand, without it crumbling in on itself. After what felt like a hundred attempts, I finally got a mold to stay intact. Luckily, I wasn’t the only one having a difficult time trying to get it to work. It was nice to have other people in the class there to help and provide support when your frustration starts to build up.

33

We then started to mix together the plaster, trying our best to move fast and get the correct consistency. We rushed to fill in the molds as best we could, and now it was time to wait. By this time, a lot of our other classmates started to show up, so it gave us some time to help them out and get to know each other.

44

After 30 minutes, which didn’t seem very long because we were all hanging out together, it was finally time to remove the plaster from the sand. I was pretty anxious to see if the plaster actually shaped to the mold correctly and was ready to see if I had done it successfully.

2

All in all, I would have to say that I tried. It may not have been the most perfect hand, but you can at least get the general idea. For my first real art project, it wasn’t the worst thing in the world. Despite the fact that I may not have created a perfect hand, I would have to say that I really enjoyed my time making it. I got to spend time with some of my current friends, as well as meet new people in the class. Also, sometimes I forget that we live so close to the beach, so this experience reminded me that we live in such an incredible city and should get out more and enjoy it. At the end of the day, we ended up with a package of plaster left, and I am excited to see what else I can create next time.

Leave a Reply

